A Deep In Look At This Year’s Heisman Race

Christian Ponder

A couple of recent discussions I’ve had regarding this year’s Heisman race compelled me to write this post. I gladly researched what this year’s race will look like, and this article should definitely clarify my stance on the race this year, and make a good case for who I think should win.

Being a Seminole fan, following the team last year and seeing how much potential and skills Christian Ponder has, I think he should win the Heisman, and has a good chance at it, too. There is definitely a good number of people out there that disagree with me, but running down the line of this year’s Heisman contenders, Ponder has to be one of the strongest candidates out there.

I found two very good lists out there of Heisman contenders for this upcoming 2010 season. One was over at CollegeFootballNews.com, and the other was over at LibrarianChat.com. I’ll take a look at the one at CFN, as well as use some quotes from the LibrarianChat one.

Pete Flutak, who wrote the article at CFN, listed his Top 21 candidates. Ponder dropped in at 14, so I’ll analyze the first 13 candidates he listed in order.

1. Mark Ingram, RB Alabama
Ingram is very unlikely to win the Heisman. Most people out there think he won’t be able to win it. There’s a simple reason why: Heismandment No. 9, as written by HeismanPundit.com. It simply states this: the odds are very good that there will never be another two-time winner of the Heisman Trophy.

2. Case Keenum, QB Houston
Keenum reminds me a lot of Colt Brennan in 2007. Brennan blew up the stat sheet, his team went undefeated in the regular season, yet he still finished 3rd in the Heisman voting. Keenum also will blow up the stat sheet, but his team won’t go undefeated. Would Brennan have been in New York if his team wouldn’t have gone 12-0? Probably not. I think Keenum will be watching this year’s Heisman presentation from Houston. I highly doubt he’ll be in New York.

3. Jacory Harris, QB Miami
Miami plays at Ohio State in Week 2, then at Pittsburgh in Week 3. These two games will make or break his Heisman hopes.

4. Terrelle Pryor, QB Ohio State
I have no reasons why not to say Pryor has a chance to win the Heisman this year. The only thing going against him is that he hasn’t lived up to any expectations in his first two years at all. At all. But his potential is giant, it’s up to him if he wants to live up to it.

5. Kellen Moore, QB Boise State
I like Kellen Moore. I really do. If Boise State has another undefeated season, I think he definitely deserves to be in New York. But regardless of how good his season is, the Virginia Tech opener will probably determine if he’ll win the Heisman. It will likely be the only Boise State game that many people will watch this season, so if Moore performs bad, his Heisman hopes might fly out the window.

6. Dion Lewis, RB Pitt

Lewis grew on me towards the end of the year last year. The more you watched him, the more you noticed it was not the system, but it was him being able to make tacklers miss and get all of those yards. He was another one that got away from some of the bigger schools. He will be back wreaking havoc in the Big East again this year after a freshman campaign a year ago that saw him get nearly 1800 yards and 17 touchdowns on the ground. Keep an eye on this year as teams try to key on him a little bit more to see how he handles it.

That quote was from LibrarianChat. I agree with it- Lewis doesn’t make much noise, but he is one of the most effective players in the country.

7. Jake Locker, QB Washington

I really resent the fact that Locker is considered a Heisman candidate. I look at this situation like I do the Derrick Favors situation. Favors was on Georgia Tech (basketball) last year, has a ton of talent, but didn’t make very many waves in college basketball. Why? Because he’s more fit for the pro game. Same with Locker: he’ll be a great pro, but he’s just not a very good college football player.

8. LaMichael James, RB Oregon
Two months ago, I would have written LaMichael James off, saying he has no shot. But now that Jeremiah Masoli is kicked off of Oregon and no longer on the team, James will put up huge numbers, and might have a shot at New York.

9. John Brantley, QB Florida
Shaking my head. Brantley shouldn’t be near this list. Come on Pete! You can’t give Brantley this much of a chance to win the Heisman when he hasn’t even done anything yet.

10. Jacquizz Rodgers, RB Oregon State

Rodgers has to be considered a Heisman candidate. He ran for 1440 yards and 21 td’s on 273 attempts. He also chipped in with 522 yards and another td on 78 receptions. Rodgers and his brother are pretty much the entire offense at Oregon State. If it happens, it is usually one of them doing it. Jacquizz is extremely durable for his size. He can take a large dose of carries and not be slowed down. He will get a ton of them this year, and even though the Beavers may be an average team, he will roll up a ton of stats.

That quote also from LibrarianChat. I like Jacquizz. I think he’ll definitely be up there as a contender for this year’s Heisman.

11. Blaine Gabbert, QB Missouri

I’m not sure where this one came from, as Gabbert is on no one’s Heisman radar. I don’t see him winning it. But I know very little about him, please feel free to comment below on what you know about him.

12. Ryan Williams, RB Virginia Tech

He’d be higher but Darren Evans is coming back and Tyrod Taylor always takes yards away.

When you’re not even the best player on your team, I can’t see how you can be considered a Heisman candidate. If anyone from Virginia Tech gets invited to new York (which is likely) I’d say it should be Tyrod Taylor.

13. Jeremiah Masoli, QB Oregon
He might have been one of the favorites to win it, but then he got kicked off of Oregon. His Heisman chances- and his career- flew out the window when that happened. There’s no chance of him winning it at Ole Miss.

So as you can see, not a very strong core of players this year. Ponder would drop in right here at #14. why aren’t I making a case for him, you ask? Just check out CP7forHeisman.com. I don’t need to make a case for him when that website is out there. So I’ve made my stance on his opponents above: I think Ponder can definitely emerge out of this crew. But we’ll just have to wait and see.

Did I forget a candidate? Tell me if I did in the comment section below. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

